Zonte's Footstep

South Australia | McLaren Vale

James' Review

Zonte’s Footstep has been very successful since a group of long-standing friends, collectively with deep knowledge of every aspect of the wine business, decided it was time to do something together. Along the way there has been some shuffling of the deck chairs, all achieved without any ill feeling from those who moved sideways or backwards. The major change has been a broadening of the regions (Langhorne Creek, McLaren Vale, the Barossa and Clare valleys and elsewhere) from which the grapes are sourced. Even here, however, most of the vineyards supplying grapes are owned by members of the Zonte’s Footstep partnership. Exports to the UK, the US, Canada, Finland, Sweden, Denmark, Thailand and Singapore.

About

Zonte’s Footstep is a proudly independent Australian wine producer established in 2003. We take our vineyards and our wine, but not ourselves, too seriously.
Our grapes are sourced from our own, as well as our mates’ vineyards, from regions that produce the desired expressive, varietal characteristics of the grapes grounded by the soil they are planted in. Located in the McLaren Vale, Langhorne Creek, Adelaide Hills, the Barossa and further afield.
Hence the simple, but diligent pursuit of producing wines that reflect a sense of place, style and purpose.
We have always aimed to bottle wines with personality and expression… that’s why we gave them names. Now these wines have evolved to have a face of their own!

Cellar Door

Information

The General, cellar door and home to Zonte’s Footstep wines is a beautifully appointed space in McLaren Flat, with exposed brick and beams, beautiful Oregon bars, and leather bench seating. It is the new generation of general store. Originally built around 1910, the building operated as the McLaren Flat Post office after opening in 1911.

If you would like to visit us Monday to Thursday we are more than happy to do a tasting with you!
Please call us on (08) 7286 3088 or email bookings@thegeneralwinebar.com.au to make an appointment.

Hours

Open Monday to Thursday by appointment, Friday & Saturday 11am – 6pm.

Details are correct at time of writing

Please check winery website for up to date details

Stockist Information

Distribution Information

Queensland
Select Wines
Contact: Duane Springer
T: +61 (0)416 001 078
E: ds@selectwines.com.au

Victoria
Sante Wines
Contact: Todd Lichti
T: +61 (0)3 9429 1990
F: +61 (0)3 9429 1992
E: todd@jhlwine.com

Tasmania
Sante Wines
Contact: Todd Lichti
T: +61 (0)3 9429 1990
F: +61 (0)3 9429 1992
E: todd@jhlwine.com

South Australia
Empire Liquor
Contact: Brenton Quirini
T: +61 (0)8 8371 0088
F: +61 (0)8 8371 0388
E: sales@empireliquor.com.au

Northern Territory
Empire Liquor
Contact: Brenton Quirini
T: +61 (0)8 8371 0088
F: +61 (0)8 8371 0388
E: sales@empireliquor.com.au

Western Australia
Off The Vine
Contact: Scott Spalding
T: +61 (0)8 9335 9950
F: +61 (0)8 9335 5145
E: scott@offthevine.net.au


New Zealand
Global Wine & Beverage Company
Contact: Michael Mebus
T: +64 0 2188 5797
E: michael@globalbeverage.net

International Sales Information

United States of America & Canada

British Colombia
Artisan Wines
Contact: Dave Luetkeholder
T: +1 40 3208 1409
E: dave@artisanwines.ca

Alberta
Artisan Wines
Contact: Dave Luetkeholder
T: +1 40 3208 1409
E: dave@artisanwines.ca

Saskatchewan
Artisan Wines
Contact: Dave Luetkeholder
T: +1 40 3208 1409
E: dave@artisanwines.ca

Manitoba
Artisan Wines
Contact: Dave Luetkeholder
T: +1 40 3208 1409
E: dave@artisanwines.ca

Quebec
Vintrinsec
Contact: Francois Blouin
T: +1 51 4806 0265
F: +1 45 0907 1872
E: francois.blouin@hec.ca

Ontario
Thompson Vintage Trade
Contact: David Thompson
T: +1 90 5634 2325
F: +1 90 5634 5174
E: david@vintagetrade.com

United States of America
Artisan & Vines
Contact: Eric Platt
T: +1 301 802 0293
E: eric@artisanandvines.com



Europe & UK

Finland
Zandora Oy
Contact: Risto Illukka
T: +35 84 0501 1270
F: +35 84 2501 1270
E: risto.illukka@zandora.fi

Sweden
Stellan Kramer
Contact: Isak Evensen
T: +46 8 5449 0590
F: +46 8 5449 0599
E: isak.evensen@kramer.se

Denmark
Dansk Vin Import
Contact: Kim Hedemann
T: 4029 6314
E: kim@dansk-vin-import.dk

New Caledonia
La Vinotheque
Contact: Dominique Annonier
T: +6 8726 4130
F: +6 8726 1466
E: dominique.annonier@vinotheque.nc

England & Ireland
Aussie Rules
Contact: Lee Barrie
T: +44 141 554 1887
E: lee@aussie-rules.co.uk



Asia

Singapore & Thailand
Wine Connections
Contact: Caroline Simon
T: +65 623 8684 5203
F: +65 623 86847
E: caroline@wineconnection.com.sg

Details

Zonte's Footstep logo
Rating
Winemaker Marty O'Flaherty and Brad Rey
Established 2003
Dozens 20 000
Vineyards (area) 214.72 ha
Opening Hours Open Monday to Thursday by appointment, Friday & Saturday 11am – 6pm.
Address The General Wine Bar, 55a Main Road, McLaren Flat, SA 5171
Telephone (08)7286 3088
Website www.zontesfootstep.com.au