In 1989 Norman and Elizabeth Jones planted vines on a property with an extraordinarily rich history, commemorated by the name Dunn’s Paddock. Samuel Knowles was a convict who arrived in Van Diemen’s Land in 1838. He endured continuous punishment until he fled to SA in 1846. He changed his name to Dunn and in 1851 married 18-year-old Mary Taaffe. They walked to Amherst, pushing a wheelbarrow carrying their belongings. The original lease title is in his name. In January 2013 Norman and Elizabeth’s son Luke and his wife Rachel acquired the Amherst Winery business; Luke has a wine marketing diploma and a diploma in wine technology. Exports to China.